Overclock.net banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about ready to finally retire my Tri Sli GTX Titan /4.8 Ghz 3930k build.

This time around, I'm planning on 2x or 3x SLI with GTX 1080s (although I will probably see how support for 3x pans out before getting the third card), and a 6850k. The plan is to set up an entire room for PC gaming with one of the new LG 65 inch 4k OLEDs and my home theater surround sound setup. Now that I won't be gaming in headphones anymore though, noise is going to be a concern.

Roughly how much is it going to cost to set up watercooling on a dual SLI system, and how long will it take if this is my first time? I don't necessary need to have the very, very best gear because at this stage in my life, I'm fine with a good reliable OC rather than squeezing out every last mhz, but I want a high end system that will keep my stuff cold and have a low risk of accidents.

To reduce user error, I might buy GTX 1080's with built in blocks. Roughly how long does it usually take in the card cycle for something like that to become available and what is the typical price premium over a reference card?

·
Registered
2,924 Posts
Hybrid solutions like the Evga Hydro copper will be available pretty quickly.

I'd hold off for 1080 Tis.

As for the Watercooling...

It's a hobby not a solution. Quieter maybe yes but pump noise has been a problem over the years for me personally.

Cooler than air yes but all the money time effort stress (and destroyed parts) I've put into it... But I'm an extreme case.

You can set your budget up anywhere from 300$+ for gear (fittings, blocks, rads, fans, pump, and tubing) on up, but pretty much no matter what you do you'll spend at least twice as much as what you originally planned. You generally end up with more parts than you need because options (extra fittings I have bags of).

Time will stretch Einstein style. It's a steep learning curve.

·
Registered
61 Posts