Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,030 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Canon EOS Rebel XS and I need better lens to take pictures of indoor sports. I go to most of my brother's basketball games to take pictures and the quality of my shots has disappointed me.

In order to keep my pictures sharp I had to use an exposure of 1/200. With my lens highest f-stop (5.6) and ISO 1600 the images were still quite dark and noisy.

I used a denoising program for the first time on one of the shots and this is how it came out after some curves adjustment:

I know not all gyms have such bad lighting, but I'd like a versatile lens to solve that. I'm still learning the ropes, but I do believe better lens would help a lot on the image quality. Trigger won't be pulled for a couple months as I'm low on cash, but I'd like to know what to aim for. I don't mind 3rd party kits, as long as they hold some sort of warranty and have good quality.

Ideally I wouldn't like to spend more than U$300, but this can change according to what benefits I'd receive from paying more.

·
Premium Member
3,348 Posts
I would look for a 70-200 f/2.8. Canon, Tamron, Sigma, all make this type of lens. You won't find any for what your budget is, so if that's all you can invest, then save your pennies.

·
Premium Member
3,348 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by procpuarie
View Post

I disagree with the above. 70mm is too long for many shots. 18-200 if you can afford it, 55-200 if not. You may need to do some lens switching.

The lenses you mention are too slow for indoor sports. A 70-200/2.8 is ideal for this. If he buys an 18-200 or 55-200, he'll end up with the same problem and waste his money.

·
Banned
2,994 Posts
I know a guy who I think uses something a bit bigger then 70, but I'm not sure. It kinda looks like a 200-400. This is for indoor sports. He also has one of those big flashes too.

·
Premium Member
7,204 Posts