Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello Guys,

I am coming from AMD and with Intel i have no experiences in the past 10 years. I already have on the way a 12400F CPU, but i am unsure what motherboard to buy.

-I‘d like to overclocking, but 12400F is locked. Does it make sense to buy Z690 motherboard than?Or with BCLK i can still do overclcoking?
-Asrock has Base Frequency Boost for all LGA1700 motherboards, is that any good?
-If i cannot overclcok the CPU or have no sense, i still want to overclcock memory. I am reading B660 motherboards can do that too. And I have selected Patriot DDR4-4400 Samsun B-die, i want to bring the full potential out of them. I am reading MSI PRO Z690-A is the best in it.

So i am thinking on the following motherboards,
-MSI PRO Z690-A (prooven by many has great memory overclocking),
-Asus B660 Proart (best looking motherboard and good price),
-Asrock Z690 Extreme (offers many overclcoking options)

Or you can reccommend something else?

Update:
It turned to be in some motherboards these locked processors can be BCLK overclocked. From now on i am interested only on those motherboards.

·
Premium Member
2,661 Posts
My vote goes to PRO Z690-A :)

·
Vandelay Industries
2,683 Posts
Price the board options out. If it is cheaper to get the z690 than it is to up the chip and get a lesser board, go for it. If getting an i7 with a lesser board is cheaper, I'd go that route.

·
Registered
2,969 Posts