Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys,

i'm currently considering putting some vram heatsinks on my asus 580 dc2 card. i haven't heard from anyone who has suffered vram problems with my card, but just looking at a naked vram somewhat worries me a little...

the story is i bought some aluminium vram heatsinks from arctic cooling, they're made of aluminium with no finishing paint.

now, my gpu pcb is black, so i kinda want to paint the heatsinks black as well, but i have no experience or knowledge in this whatsoever, so i would like to ask for your advice.

basically, what i want to know specifically is do i need some heat resistant paint or just normal paint will do? reason for asking is that i know the vram gets pretty toasty underload...

or, should i just leave the aluminium heatsinks as they are and forget about the colour?

thanks in advance!

·
Not having a good time
2,395 Posts
Personally I wouldn't but If I were to paint it I would use a High heat resistant spray paint so you can evenly coat it but remember when spray painting do passive sprays (Like how you Strafe when gaming) and don't spray too much in one area even with small objects like a heatsink because if you do too much heat may get trapped in that area, effectively reducing your heatsinks capabilities.
biggrin.gif

Good luck with your project.
cool.gif

And like rheicel said "One coat should do just fine"

• Rep+
Reactions: erik257

·
Registered
875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by rheicel;14222852
You can use any black metal paint. Usuallu you only need one coat for black colour.
thanks for the quick reply rheicel

do you think those will cut it? i know those are for graffiti primarily, they say it's for any surface, but didn't mention anything about high heat environment, any thoughts? or do i have to get paint designed specifically for metal?

·
Registered
875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote: