Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,024 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
came out in 2004 (I remember them being released not too far apart from eachother) were you able to play it maxed out?

The PC I had at the time of its release lagged big time in both even at low settings. Which is a shame. Then again in 2004 I was 13 years old and didn't have money for an expensive rig. The cards to have at the time was the Nvidia 6800 Ultra and the X800 XT PE.

I believe my graphics card at the time was a GeForce FX 5600 rofl.
 

·
Nvidia Enthusiast
Joined
·
10,016 Posts
back in 04 i had a Pentium 1 at 70MHz so no lol
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,344 Posts
When I got Doom 3, I don't know when it was released exactly compared to when I played it...I beat it on Medium settings on a 1.8Ghz Turion and X200
biggrin.gif
Depressing because it was worlds more powerful then my netbook, which cost nearly as much.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,415 Posts
I built a new pc in summer of 2005. My previous tbird based pc with an 8500le 128MB could barely run doom3.

I still can see the newegg order in my history from the new pc. I was rocking a brand new (bought it on launch day) 7800GTX. I think it got maxed my current res of 1280x1024. I was able to crank it up pretty high.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,470 Posts
I could play HL2 on low in 05 when I got my 1.8GHz AMD 64 2800+! ATI 9800Pro 128MB replaced with an X800GTO so I could actually play Source!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,014 Posts
I remember my friend buying the first sli board where you had to change like 18 jumpers around to get sli enabled, if you wanted to disable it you had to remove all the jumpers. He had 6800's. When it came out I only had an fx5200 agp and an fx 5200 pci. It was a whilte before I bought my 6800 and buy then, that game was old.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
711 Posts
Nope, I could not max that stuff...don't even think I could run it. In '04 I had a Celeron 1.7GHz and a Geforce MX4000 with 1GB of DDR266 and 60GB HDD. A year later I upgraded to awesomeness...however, I did raid on WoW with that computer.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,652 Posts
Yep I was able to max both games out as I had:
2.6GHz Pent. 4
1GB Ram
9800 Pro 128MB
 

·
✾ ✿ ❀ ❁
Joined
·
8,615 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by luanswan2002;13016953
came out in 2004 (I remember them being released not too far apart from eachother) were you able to play it maxed out?

The PC I had at the time of its release lagged big time in both even at low settings. Which is a shame. Then again in 2004 I was 13 years old and didn't have money for an expensive rig. The cards to have at the time was the Nvidia 6800 Ultra and the X800 XT PE.

I believe my graphics card at the time was a GeForce FX 5600 rofl.
I had Pentium 4 HT 2.8Ghz and FX5200 128Mb
Could run it on med/high
biggrin.gif
 

·
✾ ✿ ❀ ❁
Joined
·
8,615 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelmartinez;13017281
in 04 the word computer wasn't in my vocab, cause i'm 5
you're 12. OCN's age-limit is 13. Please wait 1 year
 

·
Overclocking
Joined
·
9,253 Posts
First time I played those games, I had a athlon 64 2800 with a Radeon 9550. First time I ever learned how to overclock and use ATi tool.
 

·
✾ ✿ ❀ ❁
Joined
·
8,615 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelmartinez;13017281
in 04 the word computer wasn't in my vocab, cause i'm 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelmartinez;13017486
dude seriously i'm not 12, i promise i'm above age 13 otherwise it's not okay to join OCN I didn't have a PC in 04 I had some Mac that i have forgotten about
Well 2004 you were 5
Well 2005 you were 6
Well 2006 you were 7
Well 2007 you were 8
Well 2008 you were 9
Well 2009 you were 10
Well 2010 you were 11
Well 2011 you are 12

Lol
rolleyes.gif
 
1 - 20 of 76 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top