Overclock.net banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am relatively new to overclock.net, but I have a question regarding where I can buy a touch screen that is similar in size and function of the Apple iPad's LED screen. It seems that many I have seen stretch past $1000 and I am looking for one less than $200-250. I am working on a prototype SFF PC and I would like to have a highly function touch screen as its main display.

Thank you very much.

·
Banned
3,369 Posts
You can get touchscreen kits that mount over netbook screens for a hundred or two on eBay I believe, just as a point of reference...

Not sure about dual touch and all that.

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your input. Do you know of any desktop displays that can use VGA/DVI as netbook screens are ideal but there is no way to connect them via a desktop motherboard?

·
System *****
2,527 Posts
You need an engineer, i dont think there is any other way around it.
Should you discover some multi interface screen thats not proprietary or some all in one / universal then hats off to you.

As far as ipad touch screens concern, a little birdy may have slipped a screen or two, over to my friends brothers uncles underground shop, where the main birdy is holding them till release, should you need the actual part ? Maybe give me a ring next month.

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah that's what I thought. There's no retail market for that kind of surface. I would need to buy OEM and that means orders of 1000+ and I want to make 1....

Maybe if I took a look at the Chinese wholesalers webpages. They might have something. Not sure about quality though.

Thanks for the input. And the exact iPad screen will probably not suffice because the connectors from it to the iPad's mainboard are completely proprietary and not even with standard connections. So that wouldn't work....