Overclock.net banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
910 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! I hope for this to help someone out there in Internet Land. There may even be useful info here for expert Windows users. I'm sure someone else can contribute more useful info than I have.
About me: I'm a computer technician by occupation, and I love the OCN.
heart.gif

graduated.gif
As you probably know, chkdsk.exe (Check Disk) is and has been the Microsoft Windows disk checker for a long time now, since it replaced ScanDisk in Windows 98 or so.
  • It is used to find and correct NTFS file system errors (using chkdsk /f
  • It can also be used to test the entire "surface" or writable area of the disk (both HDD and SSD) for read/write errors (bad sectors) using chkdsk /r.
  • Examples of proper command line syntax are chkdsk /f c: and chkdsk /r d:
  • Chkdsk can't check your system (C:) drive while Windows is booted, so it has to run at system startup to check C:.
  • Chkdsk can be run from within Windows to check drives other than your system drive, such as a connected USB flash drive, or an internal storage drive other than C:. (This will require administrative permission and must force a dismount of the volume to be checked, which will be inaccessible during the entire duration of the disk check).
  • Chkdsk can only be run using administrative permissions, either from an administrator command prompt, or using the windows UAC "allow" button.
The stages of chkdsk (1-5):Stages 1-3 are the file system portion, and if selected, 4-5 are the entire disk portion. 4-5 are the long part, 5 taking the longest. Here's the Microsoft info page on chkdsk. Here's a Yahoo answer about the 5 stages.