Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this an operating system problem? No matter how many times I try to sync to the internet time or manually change it, it still manages to come out of sync. very annoying. help please <img alt="smile.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/smile.gif">
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
77,827 Posts
<p>How far out of sync does it get?</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,622 Posts
Have you checked the time in the Motherboard Bios? That's often the cause with OS time issues.. Make sure it's right there..
 

·
Ore Wa Gundam
Joined
·
1,800 Posts
Have you checked your BIOS time and date settings?<br><br>
If by out of sync, you find some days it's out by a few years and certain programs don't work on startup because of it, it could be your CMOS battery being at the end of its tether. To be honest, I've had new Motherboards arrive with failed batteries, and I've had them last 7+ in others.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
@TC: If left alone, it will slowly stay behind a few minutes, then hours, days, weeks +<br><br>
@other two: should I go check in my BIOS then? If it is the battery, can I get a replacement at Walmart or something?
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
77,827 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1620584/windows-time-keeps-going-out-of-sync#post_25768040" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false">Quote:
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>jetplane48</strong> <a href="/t/1620584/windows-time-keeps-going-out-of-sync#post_25768040"><img alt="View Post" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
@TC: If left alone, it will slowly stay behind a few minutes, then hours, days, weeks +<br><br>
@other two: should I go check in my BIOS then? If it is the battery, can I get a replacement at Walmart or something?</div>
</div>
<p> </p>
<p>All you need is a '2032' battery. It's a very common battery that's used in lots and lots of things.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>When you say "if left alone", what precisely do you mean?</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,622 Posts
If the clock in the Bios is also going out of sync after you've set it correctly, then definitely try replacing the battery. If the Bios is keeping time properly and only the operating system is going out of sync, then I'm not exactly sure what would be causing that. But you could try setting it not to sync the time with a server and just have it on full manual control.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
bad news guys, i just switched out the old 2032 with a brand new one and the windows time still keeps running out of sync. its just that the time falls behind and stuff. and by left alone, i mean it wont exactly try to fix itself. also, please help! bios is good!time works there. sorry, im kinda drunk when i wrote this so excuse my poor grammar <img alt="frown.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/frown.gif"><br><br>
EDIT: so turns out the BIOS is also out of sync when it comes to time!!! HELP ME !<img alt="frown.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/frown.gif">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
bump, please someone help. read the post right above this one <img alt="frown.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/frown.gif"> windows time is out of sync <img alt="frown.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/frown.gif">
 

·
woot
Joined
·
2,599 Posts
do you have it set to sync with time.windows.com? have you tried time.nist.gov?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1620584/windows-time-keeps-going-out-of-sync#post_25778397" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>sli_shroom</strong> <a href="/t/1620584/windows-time-keeps-going-out-of-sync#post_25778397"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
do you have it set to sync with time.windows.com? have you tried time.nist.gov?</div>
</div>
<br>
yeah both of them keep going out of sync. like say its 630pm right now. i will check an hr later and it will say 635pm on windows but on my phone its the accurate time. how do i fix this?
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
77,827 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1620584/windows-time-keeps-going-out-of-sync/10#post_25778419" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false">Quote:
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>jetplane48</strong> <a href="/t/1620584/windows-time-keeps-going-out-of-sync/10#post_25778419"><img alt="View Post" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br><br>
yeah both of them keep going out of sync. like say its 630pm right now. i will check an hr later and it will say 635pm on windows but on my phone its the accurate time. how do i fix this?</div>
</div>
<p> </p>
<p>I think it's safe to stop asking us how to fix it. We know that you want to know how to fix it. All we are trying to do is figure out what's wrong so that maybe we can figure out a solution. That's why you keep getting different questions. You will keep getting different questions from different people and sooner or later, one of us will figure it out.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>We're not going to forget that you want to know how to fix it. That's precisely what we're trying to figure out here. The problem is, I don't think anyone here has ever seen this problem before. I know I haven't.</p>
 

·
Criminal scum
Joined
·
336 Posts
If you haven't already, set the correct time in BIOS, apply changes and then re-enter BIOS (don't boot the OS at all) and let it sit in the BIOS screen for a while, see if the BIOS clock stays in sync. If it does, there's something wrong with Windows. If it doesn't, then either your battery is bad or your motherboard is.
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
77,827 Posts
<p>Yeah, set the correct time in the BIOS, Save and Exit the BIOS (to make damn sure it's saved), and go right back into the BIOS (do not go into Windows) and just let the computer sit in the BIOS while you go do something else like watch TV or something. If an hour later it only shows that 5 minutes have passed, then we can at least rule out your software environment and say it's some kind of a problem at the hardware layer.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Depending on the results of this test, we might be able to take a step forward. It won't be a big step by any means (probably just a tiny baby step), but it'll be at least <strong>some</strong> kind of progress toward figuring out what the problem is so that maybe we might have a chance of figuring out how to fix it.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Fortunately, you replaced the battery with a new one, so we know it's not the battery.</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Sorry, I didn't mean to upset you guys. I'm just very frustrated. Please don't ban me. I did the BIOS tip you guys did, but the time still changed <img alt="frown.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/frown.gif">
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
77,827 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1620584/windows-time-keeps-going-out-of-sync/10#post_25781860" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false">Quote:
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>jetplane48</strong> <a href="/t/1620584/windows-time-keeps-going-out-of-sync/10#post_25781860"><img alt="View Post" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
Sorry, I didn't mean to upset you guys. I'm just very frustrated. Please don't ban me. I did the BIOS tip you guys did, but the time still changed <img alt="frown.gif" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/frown.gif"></div>
</div>
<p> </p>
<p>Of course you're frustrated. Anyone would be frustrated with this. We get that. Trust in the fact that you have established already that this is a problem and that you want to know how to fix it. Trust that we know it's really frustrating and is likely pissing you off constantly. We totally understand. All want to do is help, but it doesn't help us to keep being told that you want to know how to fix it and that it's bothering you. We know! :) Let's just try to figure this out.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>I don't have any more ideas, but there are a lot of people on here. So, let's see what others come up with.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>I do have one question for now: when exactly did this start happening?</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,622 Posts
What I was trying to figure out before was whether it was an OS or Mobo issue. Seeing as you've now replaced the battery and tested the Bios time while ruling the OS out - it's pretty clear the motherboard is the problem. It could be coincidence that you've replaced a drained battery with another drained battery, but I would suggest updating the Bios. If you've already got the latest Bios - reflash it. If the issue persists, flash an older version of the Bios if you can do it in a safe way. If you have a dual Bios, just flash the older version with the Bios switch in the other position. Good luck <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif"> Let us know how you get on..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I'm sorry to bump an old thread, but I'm having the exact same issue as described here, and it specifically occurred after overclocking my CPU for the first time ever.

Everyone searching for solutions in this thread are asking about the BIOS, CMOS, internet time sync, etc... Can changing the cpu clock speed affect the windows time like this?? My windows clock loses about 1-2 seconds each minute relative to real time (internet sync).

All I did to OC my CPU was change the bus from 100 to 120, the core voltage to 1.38, and left the ratio at 37. I went from 3.7 to 4.5. Core temps average about 61c under 90% load, and the system seems stable other than the windows time. Obviously I'm new to this, so I don't know if what I did was gucci, I just know that it worked.

I'd really prefer to avoid flashing my BIOS or replacing the CMOS batt, when I know the time problem didn't exist before the OC, and I'm guessing would fix if I restored to default settings. But for now, I'd rather have the extra ghz than a working clock.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,976 Posts
@malfy:

I would think it's caused by that 120MHz bus setting. Whatever chip the clock is in really does not like you doing this. Go back to the default 100MHz and instead set the core ratio to 44x or 45x.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Hmmm at 100MHz bus and 45x ratio I have to jack the core voltage up to 1.42 for the same results. Core temps dont really change though, is this ok? I read somewhere that core voltage above 1.4 is too much..
 
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
Top