Overclock.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the X-FI xtrememusic sound card, I hear it only has an analogue input or something? Would I be better off getting an Audigy 2 Zs to get digital input. I'm looking to pair one of these cards with a decent 5.1 setup of speakers, that probably have digital input?

Anyway, I'm a complete noob when it comes to this stuff, so any help is really appreciated

·
Registered
59 Posts
Nah man the X-fi has a digital output. I dont know if thats what you meant or not. You could definately get the X-fi platinum edition and have the many digital and analong input/outputs in a 3.5" bay. I reccomend the Logitech Z-5500's. Thats what i have and they are SWEET! Haha. One more thing, in order to use the digital output, you have to disable your decoder on the sound card with the speakers above. This is because the speakers "control center" has their own decoder. They both work sweetly. Digital is not that much better than the analog 6ch output. Most noticable time you could hear the difference is if you are using optical connections. Those are amazing!

Good luck,

BumBum

EDIT: I am pretty much a hard-core audiophile. (Hence my little title dealie) :p

·
Premium Member
4,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Actually I was really looking into the Z-5500's. They seem like they are awsome.

So would you recommend the X-FI strongly over the Audigy 2 ZS?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Definately. My Audigy 2 Zs is adequate but i have listened to Dopin_Nut's X-fi and it sounds amazing. It corrects overly-bassy music and the crystalizer really gets the job done. The different modes of the card like "entertainment mode, gaming mode etc." are pretty neat. I really havnt noticed a huge difference because i dont have one and i havnt experimented that much, but i imagine it must have some sort of a purpose.

So yes, i would strongly reccomend the X-fi over the ZS. :p

-BumBum

·
Premium Member
5,876 Posts
Quote: