Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
20,315 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a buyer for my pair of 7900GTX and am looking at Crossfire.<br />
<br />
In order to do a crossfire setup, will these two cards work in conjunction?<br />
<br />
ATI Radeon X1950XTX 512MB <br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.infonec.com/site/main.php?module=detail&id=187314" target="_blank">http://www.infonec.com/site/main.php...tail&id=187314</a><br />
<br />
ATI Original Radeon X1950 CrossFire 512MB <br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.infonec.com/site/main.php?module=detail&id=187313" target="_blank">http://www.infonec.com/site/main.php...tail&id=187313</a><br />
<br />
I'm getting $500 apiece for the GTX's so the difference in price is going to be $0 (I get a dealer discount and plan to buy the matching models by <b>Sapphire</b> from a distributor) so it seems like a decent switch.<br />
<br />
Any advice or comments appreciated.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,811 Posts
Those should work. Your system just keeps getting better and better. <img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" class="inlineimg" />
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: BigpoppaFrary

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,054 Posts
Jesus man that is gonna be one heck of a system. Please keep your old benchmarks if you have them and compare them with your new x1950's.<br />
<br />
pink
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
584 Posts
Anyone else heard that Crossfire on the Intel chipsets is kinda slow? Apparently some games get less of a performance boost then they do on any of the other Crossfire-able chipsets.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Err. Huh?<br><br>
Intel chipsets are basically the only ones you can run them on , at least on the Intel (Core 2 Duo) platform. To me, it runs just fine <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile"><br><br>
On the AMD platform there is the Radeon XPress3200 Chipset, but this one is not out for Intel (Core 2 Duo). I used to have the same cards I have now in an AMD rig, with an Opty 170 and a Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe. The Intel beats the AMD easily. The 975X Chipset runs Crossfire in an x8, x8 mode, while the Radeon xPress 3200 runs at x16, x16 mode. This does not really cause a whole lot of difference (maybe with the X1950's yuo might reach the x8 bandwidth). However, somehow I see a DFI RD600 board in Robilar's future when those are out.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Psst: Canadian $<br><br>
And in Canada prices are a bit higher. Still a good sell!!
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,351 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Chozart</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">Psst: Canadian $<br><br>
And in Canada prices are a bit higher. Still a good sell!!</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
I knew that <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Wink"><br><br>
Holy crap Chozart, your a REP magnet. The last time I saw you you had like 780 REPs.. Good job lol <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Thumb">
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,351 Posts
I read on a newegg review that one guy bought 2 of the x1950XTXs only to find out that the "Crossfire" branded ones are merely Crossfire slaves. He said that ATi told him that x1950XTX masters will come out by the end of October. Can anyone verify?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
It has to really say 'Crossfire Edition'. Merely 'Crossfire' is often just a normal card that is 'Crossfire ready'<br><br>
Not sure about release date.... I see that Zipzoomfly lists them in the USA here now, but out of stock:<br><a href="http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/team_summary.php?s=&t=37726" target="_blank">http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...php?s=&t=37726</a><br><br>
The one you list by the way.. is NOT a Crossfire Edition card! Crossfire Edition cards are recognized by a different connector for the Crossfire cable. The ones you listed both have dual DVI ports, and thus are not the Crossfire Edition card!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
584 Posts
The problem is with either the chipset drivers or the ATI drivers, but Crossfire on the Intel chipset vs Crossfire on even the Xpress200 chipset, is slower in certain games. I'm talking GPU performance only.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
<img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/proof.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Proof"><br><br>
Where did yuo get that from?<br>
As far I've seen, the best benchies are with Crossfire on the Intel Chipset.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,303 Posts
How did you run SLI on your Asus board??
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
There are modded drivers out there that will enable you to run SLI on basically any board that has dual PCI-E x16 slots. sdumper is doing it also on a P5W DH Deluxe
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,303 Posts
Wow, I now I think I want to blow some money on a second card.....but I think I am just gonna wait for DX10 hardware....to be honest, I am playing all my games on high anyway...... arrrgg....damn upgrade fever trying to come out of remission
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
With your 19" monitor, no reason to go SLI or Crossfire. Think about it when you get a monitor with at least a resolution of 1600x1200 or the widescreen equivalent.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
20,315 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Thanks for the feedback guys. To the above points: <br />
<br />
Chozart, the links are provided will not create a crossfire system? That was the primary reason for this post as I have been Nvidia so long that I was uncertain as to what to buy but given my budget, I figured X1950 would be the way to go.<br />
<br />
As to the price of the cards, they are selling for $530 + tax in canada ($600 each). Both of my cards are less than 3 months old, so my cousin (who is buying both) is saving $200. With $1000, I can easily afford the X1950 series but I have to ensure I buy the right combination of cards.<br />
<br />
SLI works fine with the modded 84.56 drivers, however I am a bit concerned as I am basically at the mercy of modders creating newer drivers whereas with an ATI setup, all is good. <br />
<br />
I also have a 19" monitor but once I get the video cards switched I'm going monitor shopping (my NEC has been great but I've had it for over 3 years). I'm either going to get a 22" NEC-Mitsubishi CRT (hard to find but fantastic picture) or a 24" or larger LCD. I'm leaning towards the CRT as I have a huge desk area and am more concerned about picture quality than ergonomics (and the CRT is cheaper!).<br />
<br />
Chozart, can you advise what I will need in matching cards? Links to US products is fine as I can match them up with the distributors I deal with here.<br />
<br />
Thanks
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
20,315 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
<a href="http://www.infonec.com/site/main.php?module=detail&id=187313" target="_blank">http://www.infonec.com/site/main.php...tail&id=187313</a><br />
<br />
ATI Original Radeon X1950 CrossFire 512MB RETAIL<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.bigfootcomputers.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=9688&Category_Code=950.1" target="_blank">http://www.bigfootcomputers.com/Merc...ory_Code=950.1</a><br />
<br />
ATI Original Radeon X1950 CrossFire PCI-E 512MB Retail Video Card<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=20559&vpn=100-435846&manufacture=ATI" target="_blank">http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...anufacture=ATI</a><br />
<br />
ATI Radeon X1950 Crossfire Edition 650MHZ 512MB <br />
<br />
<br />
So these definitely won't work?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
20,315 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Also, there is an Asus card one of my distributors has, <br />
<br />
<b>ASUS EAX1950CROSSFIRE </b><br />
<br />
EAX1950CF/HP/512M<br />
<br />
Asus Radeon X1950XTX PCI-E 512MB <br />
<br />
"ASUS EAX1950CROSSFIRE is equipped with exclusive ASUS innovations and ATI RADEON X1950XTX GPU. Through ATI unique CrossFire technology, the ASUS EAX1950CROSSFIRE unites multiple graphics processing units (GPUs) working together to propel your PC to a new pinnacle of performance. In addition, the ASUS EAX1950CROSSFIRE is HDCP ready"<br />
<br />
<br />
Also a powercolor<br />
<br />
<b>PowerColor ATI Radeon X1950 CrossFire </b>PCI-E 512MB GDDR4 DVI VHDCI HDTV Retail UPC: N/A X1950CF512MB <br />
<br />
Also from the distributor<br />
<br />
<b>ATI-Sapphire Original Radeon X1950 </b>PCI-E 512MB GDDR4 Dual DVI TV OUT CrossFire Retail <br />
<br />
"The Radeon X1950 CrossFire Edition is essentially the same thing as the X1950 XTX, save for the fact that it adds a special compositing engine for use with multi-GPU setups. ATI hasnt yet incorporated this image compositing engine into the GPU, so a CrossFire Edition card is still required. This time around, though, the CrossFire card runs at the same clock speeds as the XTX. "<br />
<br />
<br />
<b>connect3D Radeon× X1950 CrossFire </b>512MB GDDR4 DVI-I CrossFire VIVO
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Robilar</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;"><b><a href="http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=20559&vpn=100-435846&manufacture=ATI" target="_blank">http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...anufacture=ATI</a><br><br>
ATI Radeon X1950 Crossfire Edition 650MHZ 512MB</b><br><br><br>
So these definitely won't work?</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
You need this one, together with one of the others. Look at the image, and see the different connector. This is the Crossfire Edition card, which will be your Master card, while one of the others will be your slave. (does not need to be same brand)
 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top