Overclock.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Old school
Joined
·
14,377 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since today the X1950 Pro is available in the Netherlands! The downside is, I can't find a single review about it so I don't know how it compares to other cards.. any ideas or facts about them?<br />
<br />
Edit: the price is $194
 

·
Filthy Casual
Joined
·
8,653 Posts
Dang,. for that price you can't go wrong! Does it still have GDDR4?
 

·
Old school
Joined
·
14,377 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No it has GDDR3 and the brand is MSI. No other brands available yet. Clock speeds 600/1400 at stock.
 

·
Filthy Casual
Joined
·
8,653 Posts
You'd be better off with a 7900GS, best card in that price range currently.
 

·
Old school
Joined
·
14,377 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yes but the XFX 7900GS overclocks to 7900GTX clocks (4 pixel shaders less and half the mem, I know), so I have to know if the X1950 Pro is a good overclocker too.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,054 Posts
What mobo are you getting for this card? From googling your mobo now is AGP...<br />
<br />
pink
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
695 Posts
the 1950 pro has an excellent heatsink on it. They made it quieter and cooler than the 1900 version. I would reccomend either one. The true question is... ARE you a nvidia fan boy or an ati fan boy.?
 

·
Old school
Joined
·
14,377 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>gatattack</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">the 1950 pro has an excellent heatsink on it. They made it quieter and cooler than the 1900 version. I would reccomend either one. The true question is... ARE you a nvidia fan boy or an ati fan boy.?</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>It doesn't matter to me, either the 7900GS for it's overclocking potential or the X1950 Pro which is the only Ati based card on 80nm and should overclock good also.. right? Still waiting for a review.<br />
<br />
The card will go on either a DFI 590SLI, Asus M2N32-SLI or the DFI NF4 for AM2.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,054 Posts
Scratch the DFI 590SLi as its a terrible OC from the readings. Also I thought they scrapped it. And why not got for a crossfire mobo to add a second card later on?<br><br>
pink
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
470 Posts
Any idea when this will be available in the States? Considering on upgrading an X850XT to either the X1900XT 256, X1950 Pro or 7900 GTO.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>gatattack</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">The true question is... ARE you a nvidia fan boy or an ati fan boy.?</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
We don't do fanboyism here <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Stick Out Tongue">
 

·
Old school
Joined
·
14,377 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Mr Pink57</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">Scratch the DFI 590SLi as its a terrible OC from the readings. Also I thought they scrapped it. And why not got for a crossfire mobo to add a second card later on?<br><br>
pink</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
I can only choose from one Crossfire 3200 mainboard here and that is the MSI K9A Platinum. I've read that it can only go up to 1,4 vcore and is in general a poor overclocker, so it would hurt my cpu overclock and I have to go with a 590 SLI chipset. The Asus Crossfire board does up to 1,55 vcore but that one isn't for sale here yet for some reason.<br><br>
And I'm not getting a DX10 card if I read it correctly about that insane power usage...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
You're doing a complete ovechaul it seems. You're getting video and motherboard. Since you're planning AM2, you'll be getting a new CPU and RAM as well. Am I correct?<br><br>
Have yuo thought about Intel Core 2 Duo? It'll beat AM2 easily, and you have more choice of Crossfire motherboards.
 

·
Old school
Joined
·
14,377 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Chozart</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">You're doing a complete ovechaul it seems. You're getting video and motherboard. Since you're planning AM2, you'll be getting a new CPU and RAM as well. Am I correct?<br />
<br />
Have yuo thought about Intel Core 2 Duo? It'll beat AM2 easily, and you have more choice of Crossfire motherboards.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>C2D hasn't crossed my mind once, I'm pleased with AMD as they are. In a month or 2 there will be 65nm processors and most of my previous processors were AMD's too, except for 1 P4 1,8ghz which had terrible performance compared to my old socket A 2400+. Besides that, AMD motherboards are at a nice price and the X2's aren't that expensive and the most important thing: it will do everything I want it to do.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Ok <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" /> I was just suggesting, given the low prices for the CPUs (E6300 = $180) and a performance that outpaces AMD right now.<br />
<br />
But if you plan to buy when AMD's new CPU is out, then I understand<br />
<br />
Seeing your parts in your sig, I can estimate your budget, and I am guessing it's the best bang for the buck indeed <img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
Just wondering why the step to AM2 now, and not just wait until those new AMD CPUs are out...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,616 Posts
How is the X1950Pro out already!? Release date is October the 17th...
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top