Overclock.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As alot of people allready know, the new X1950XTX comes shipped with Catalyst 6.7 on the install disc. When trying to upgrade to either Catalyst 6.8 or 6.9, an error will occur early in the installation...<br />
<br />
<font color="Red"><b>"INF ERROR: Cannot find driver. Please install a standard VGA driver and try again."</b></font><br />
<br />
...or something to that effect. This card is completely incompatable with these drivers, and you will need to use the drivers found on the install disc until that time. Shortly after receiving this response message from ATI, I spoke with a tech advisor on the phone. (<u><font color="RoyalBlue">Response email attached below</font></u>)<br />
<br />
I was told that we should see Catalyst 6.10 as early as Oct. 14-15 to as late as the end of October, even early November! The Catalyst crew is expecting <b>huge</b> performance gains for the card with the new release, and they want as few problems as possible when it hits servers for public download. The reason for the current error is mainly the GDDR4, but many other factors that he would not go into. Also, he stated that it would be very wise NOT to use the 6.10 betas found on thier site, which were initially released for use with the [email protected] applications. The drivers included with the .10 beta are "not in good shape" as he put it, and could possibly put my card in the same condition.<br />
<br />
So now we know when to expect our update, and hope that it works as well as I was led to believe.<br />
<br />
As for the drivers that come with the card, is anyone else experiencing less than phenomenal performance when benchmarking, or is it just me? Let me know what you guys think, I just wanted to share the info!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
250 Posts
aye, i have same problem<br />
<br />
and 6.7 dosnt work very good on cards, i mean the performance is not exactly that big
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Same Problem here.<br><br>
All my benchmarks with 6.7 are fubarred but my games run great.<br><br>
I can't even open the Control Centre most of the time so this is deep joy!!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,054 Posts
6.7 was not made for the x1900 series, it does this with my x1600. You need to go to 6.8 or 6.9. The new omega drivers have been released and are doing well for me, there are also the warcat 6.9's.<br />
<br />
pink
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thats just it... we cant go to 6.8 or 6.9 because of the error seen at the top of the page. Also, as I was told by ATI, the X1950 actually cant be considered in the X1900 series even though they are running the same gpu because of the GDDR4. And I'm not actually sure if the drivers that come with the X1950 <i>are</i> Catalyst 6.7's. I know the driver number is 8.282, so whatever Catalyst series that driver is included with, there ya' go. ATI has a download page on their site specifically for the X1950XTX in case you lose your original driver disc, because you cant install ANY of the standard Catalyst drivers from the regular download sites (as if you were downloading for any other card). I sure hope they get those drivers out soon...<br />
<br />
I guess until then, I'm just gonna have to run Dual X1600's in Crossfire <img src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Thumb" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
so does this mean we havent seen the x1950xt perform at its best , because i was dissapointed with the bench marks , as it is only a fps quicker than the x1900xt ?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,054 Posts
Are you keeping 6.7 installed and just installing over it? If so dont do that completely uninstall it with Driver Cleaner Pro and install Catalyst 6.9.<br />
<br />
And I cant image its going to be blistering fast compared to a x1900 either.<br />
<br />
pink
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Now, there is a Catalyst Beta 6.10 Beta out, which is according to ATI for the FAH client...<br />
<br />
However, since it's a 6.10 Beta, you might want to try it for the 1950XTX... you never know.<br />
<br />
Just a suggestion.<br />
<br />
<a href="https://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894&task=knowledge&folderID=27" target="_blank">https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...ge&folderID=27</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Yes, I have done a full Un-install on my system, as well as cleaning out the registry, etc. Read the first post in the thread - ATI themselves told me that the 6.10 betas probably isnt the best way to go, it would probably run better with the drivers that came w/ the card.<br />
<br />
As far as comparing it to the X1900, it "should" in theory be faster, even though they use the same gpu, the gddr4 helps that gpu so much that it seems to run that much faster. From the reviews I've read in mags and such, it is the only card to come close to nvidia's dual-processor card, in fact slightly beating it in one or two benches if I remember correctly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
i really hope they go get the huge performance increase , as the x1950 has been dissapointing compated to the x1900xt .,and with the rumours about the G80 only getting 12k in 3dmark 06 with a quad core kentsfield it would help out ati and the r600
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Well to be honest, since I've upgraded my motherboard I've had great performance from this card. Also I've noticed that having adaptive AA on, high quality AF, and especially v-sync - seriously drops scores from all the benchmarks. Here are some of my scores since I upgraded to the motherboard listed in my rig specs below...<br><br>
Both of these are with a card OC of 695/1050<br><br>
previous motherboard (nvidia chipsets) w/ 2gb G.Skill 800mhz RAM- NO OC on processor.<br><br>
Aquamark 3 - 99,724<br>
3DMark05 - 11,806<br>
3DMark06 - 5,742<br><br>
current motherboard (ati chipsets) w/ same RAM as above and no OC on processor.<br><br>
Aquamark 3 - 103,321<br>
3DMark05 - 12,534<br>
3DMark06 - 6,505<br><br>
Seems to me that an ATI card definetly prefers to run alongside its brethren, lol. Also, since the latest bios update for this board, I've been able to run my Crucial RAM @ 5-3-3-12-20 1T 2.1v and now my benchmarks are really really getting praise-worthy. Ok, I'll stop braggin about how much I love this m-board now.<br><br>
Yeah, I hope those drivers come out soon too, so I can get my bench scores even higher! The guy I talked to at ATI really has my hopes up for the 6.10's so I have high expectations.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
772 Posts
on a side note, something interresting I noticed is when going from atitool beta 14 to atitool 16 pre4 my scores droppped.<br />
<br />
cat 6.9, x1900xtx oc to 725/832<br />
<br />
atitool beta14<br />
<br />
3dmark 05 - 12888<br />
3dmark 06 - 6656<br />
<br />
atitool 16 pre 4<br />
<br />
3dmark 05 - 12700<br />
3dmark 06 - 6500<br />
<br />
I have a x1950 crossfire card in the mail to pair with my x1900xtx, I hope they get this figured out soon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,406 Posts
Is this a joke?<br />
<br />
You have all high end components but an ECS mobo?<br />
<br />
Am I seeing it right?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,589 Posts
Whoa, dead link! <img src="/images/smilies/frown.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Frown" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
See the link for the X1950 specific driver? I wonder if it is "slightly" updated versus the CD that came with the card. Worth a shot, IMHO<br />
<br />
***EDIT<br />
<br />
Retry...go to <a href="https://support.ati.com/ics/support/KBAnswer.asp?questionID=23252" target="_blank">https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...estionID=23252</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Mikey122687</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Is this a joke?<br />
<br />
You have all high end components but an ECS mobo?<br />
<br />
Am I seeing it right?</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>No, its not a joke...<br />
<br />
and I dont know what else to think but... are you bashing me for owning it?<br />
<br />
I also purchased an Asus motherboard which I setup first, with all the same components, and let me tell you, it was crap. Aside from the fact that with the ECS I'm getting waaaaaay better benchmark scores(click my avatar and check my profile <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" /> )and OC'ing is a breeze, I really dislike nvidia(thats a long story), which is what was on the Asus (M2N-E btw)<br />
<br />
Read some reviews before you make up your mind on ECS. I know they are new to the game, but what have you heard about this board? Check this out...<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWeb/Products/ProductsDetail.aspx?MenuID=30&LanID=9&DetailID=659&DetailName=Award" target="_blank">KA3-MVP Extreme v1.0a: Awards & Reviews</a><br />
<br />
Reading these made me go "all-in". I had nothing else to lose, the motherboard that I had was an Asus build for HP/Compaq (crapper). And my only options for socket AM2 and Crossfire was this and an MSI which has gotten horrible reviews, and poorer performance than the ECS.<br />
<br />
I've got the benches to prove that it was totally worth every penny as well. All in all, what matters is that I'm overly happy with it. Havent had one problem with it yet, and as far as I'm concerned - ECS is doing great for being new to OC'ing. Be sure to check out that link I posted above!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Xavier1421</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Whoa, dead link! <img src="/images/smilies/frown.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Frown" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
See the link for the X1950 specific driver? I wonder if it is "slightly" updated versus the CD that came with the card. Worth a shot, IMHO<br />
<br />
***EDIT<br />
<br />
Retry...go to <a href="https://support.ati.com/ics/support/KBAnswer.asp?questionID=23252" target="_blank">https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...estionID=23252</a></div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div><br />
Nope, if you look at where the link is taking you (or what you are to be downloading) it is still the 8.282 driver package, which unfortunetly IS whats on the CD. I just hope that they havent wasted time re-doing their website and forgot about getting us our new drivers! I cannot WAIT for the 6.10's!<br />
<br />
Lol, with my luck they will release them, and I'll end up with better benchmark scores WITH the 8.282's! <img src="/images/smilies/eek.gif" border="0" alt="" title="EEK!" class="inlineimg" />
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top