Overclock.net banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 114 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,586 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
since im building my rig within the next month (hopefully) im wondering if the Xeon 3060 beats teh e6600<br><br><br>
links:<br><br><br>
xeon - <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819117104" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819117104</a><br><br><br>
c2d - <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115003" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003</a><br><br><br><img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/grouphug.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Grouphug">
 

·
 
Joined
·
29,532 Posts
I'm pretty sure they're like AMD's Operton range , more stable, but I don't think they're able to hit a higher overclock.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,696 Posts
These processors are technically none comparable. One of these processors (the Conroe) is designed to operate within a standard computer to run games and other home based applications. The Xeon is designed to be operating within a workstation or symmetric multi processor (SMP) server environment.<br><br>
Therefore logic would state that the Xeon would operate move effectively with advanced numerical work even though to the lower level they are the same specification. The Core 2 Duo (Conroe) would therefore operate more effectively at games.<br><br>
At the low level these processors are identical in specification however if you look at the processing units then you will notice that they are both designed to work with certain things <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile"><br>
The Xeon is not designed for overclocking and will not overclock as far as the Conroe. However it will out perform it in mathematical processing.<br><br>
Overall you want a Conroe <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Stick Out Tongue">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
check out this thread for more info:<br><br><a href="http://www.overclock.net/intel-general/123405-xeon-conroe-new-post.html" target="_blank">http://www.overclock.net/intel-gener...-new-post.html</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>The_Manual</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">These processors are technically none comparable. One of these processors (the Conroe) is designed to operate within a standard computer to run games and other home based applications. The Xeon is designed to be operating within a workstation or symmetric multi processor (SMP) server environment.<br><br>
Therefore logic would state that the Xeon would operate move effectively with advanced numerical work even though to the lower level they are the same specification. The Core 2 Duo (Conroe) would therefore operate more effectively at games.<br><br>
At the low level these processors are identical in specification however if you look at the processing units then you will notice that they are both designed to work with certain things <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile"><br>
The Xeon is not designed for overclocking and will not overclock as far as the Conroe. However it will out perform it in mathematical processing.<br><br>
Overall you want a Conroe <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Stick Out Tongue"></div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
You are wrong, the Xeon 3060 are identical to core 2 duo 6600. The only difrence is a slightly higer price since they are "hand picked" for better stability.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,696 Posts
Would you like me to prove otherwise quoting data from Intel Architetcure 32 manuals? <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Wink">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,812 Posts
Chick fight, chick fight!!! Go for the top!!! j/k<img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>The_Manual</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=5bd08cb0a2becf66ff9a516b8d226d15&p=1376240#post1376240"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">Would you like me to prove otherwise quoting data from Intel Architetcure 32 manuals? <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Wink"></div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
Read the Intel Architecture 32 manual and give us the data. If there are any difrences I would like to know please <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile"> All the information I have found indicates that Xeon 3060 and E6600 are identical. Here is a quote from wikipedia:<br><br>
"3000-series "Conroe"<br><br>
Intel released rebadged versions of the desktop Core 2 Duo (Conroe) as the Dual-Core Xeon 3000-series at the end of September 2006. Model numbers are 3040, 3050, 3060, and 3070; other than the name, they are otherwise identical to Core 2 Duo models E6300, E6400, E6600, and E6700 [4]. Unlike all previous Xeon-badged processors, they only support single-CPU operation."<br><br>
In the tests I have read, Xeon 3060 and Core 2 Duo E6600 scores almost identical in games (1 frame more on E6600). Can`t find any link to the tests since I have lost my bookmarks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
926 Posts
did you know that wikipedia can say anything as long as there is enough people that post the same thing? So would you believe it if wikipedia had said that "in the past 6 months, the world's elephant population decreased by 2/3?" Which actually did happen.<br><br>
Moreover, perhaps more importantly, I wouldn't argue with The_Manual on something about Interl Processors. He's pretty buddy buddy with the folks at Intel.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
803 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>roony1974</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=5bd08cb0a2becf66ff9a516b8d226d15&p=1376165#post1376165"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">You are wrong, the Xeon 3060 are identical to core 2 duo 6600. The only difrence is a slightly higer price since they are "hand picked" for better stability.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
wrong..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,411 Posts
this is like arguing the difference between woodcrest and kentsfield
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>triggerc</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=7cbacc57dd35bcffd2623e1b5502316d&p=1410932#post1410932" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">did you know that wikipedia can say anything as long as there is enough people that post the same thing? So would you believe it if wikipedia had said that "in the past 6 months, the world's elephant population decreased by 2/3?" Which actually did happen.<br />
<br />
Moreover, perhaps more importantly, I wouldn't argue with The_Manual on something about Interl Processors. He's pretty buddy buddy with the folks at Intel.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>I know about wikipeda <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" /> I was hoping somone could come up with rock solid information and bust this myth that Xeon 3060 and E6600 are the same.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,696 Posts
The first simple difference between the Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 and the Intel Xeon 3060 is that the E6600 incorporates 4MB shared Level 2 Cache (Instruction + Data) whereas the Xeon 3060 supports 4MB shared Level 3 Cache (Instruction + Data). ECC is also supported on L3 cache.<br><br>
As you should be aware L2 cache and L3 cache are different in properties. Level 3 cache itself is slower and has a greater latency wait period than that of Level 2 cache. Due to this fact it is cheaper to manufacture and produce.<br><br>
Level 3 Cache is often used in Xeon's as it is closer to access in regards to memory.<br>
Processor Store Directive: Level 1 > Level 2 > Level 3 > System RAM > Disk Drive.<br>
Level 3 is next to the system memory within this structure, and therefore can more effectively be accessed if RAM is also brought into the equation.<br><br>
Second difference is in relation to the socket type (thermal/electric specification).<br><br>
Core 2 Duo E6600: FC-LGA<br>
Xeon 3060: FC-LGA6<br><br>
Slightly different <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Wink"><br><br>
Also be aware that due to this slightly improved socket the bandwidth of the Intel Xeon 3060 is higher than that of the Core 2 Duo E6600.<br><br>
I will get the technical information out of my manuals when I get home. The reference manuals on the Intel site are not in-depth enough compared to my developer manuals at home.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>The_Manual</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=7cbacc57dd35bcffd2623e1b5502316d&p=1412037#post1412037" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">The first simple difference between the Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 and the Intel Xeon 3060 is that the E6600 incorporates 4MB shared Level 2 Cache (Instruction + Data) whereas the Xeon 3060 supports 4MB shared Level 3 Cache (Instruction + Data). ECC is also supported on L3 cache.<br />
<br />
As you should be aware L2 cache and L3 cache are different in properties. Level 3 cache itself is slower and has a greater latency wait period than that of Level 2 cache. Due to this fact it is cheaper to manufacture and produce.<br />
<br />
Level 3 Cache is often used in Xeon's as it is closer to access in regards to memory.<br />
Processor Store Directive: Level 1 > Level 2 > Level 3 > System RAM > Disk Drive.<br />
Level 3 is next to the system memory within this structure, and therefore can more effectively be accessed if RAM is also brought into the equation.<br />
<br />
Second difference is in relation to the socket type (thermal/electric specification).<br />
<br />
Core 2 Duo E6600: FC-LGA<br />
Xeon 3060: FC-LGA6<br />
<br />
Slightly different <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" /> <br />
<br />
Also be aware that due to this slightly improved socket the bandwidth of the Intel Xeon 3060 is higher than that of the Core 2 Duo E6600.<br />
<br />
I will get the technical information out of my manuals when I get home. The reference manuals on the Intel site are not in-depth enough compared to my developer manuals at home.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>Excuse me if I may, but I own this chip and maybe I can shead some light on the situation.<br />
<br />
First of all, the claim that the Xeon 3060 has any L3 cache is absurd. The chip has no L3 cache (Verified in CPU-z (windows) and cat /proc/cpuinfo (linux))<br />
<br />
The Xeon DOES do better with number crunching and data, seeing as it is about .5 seconds faster than the e6600 in super pi at similar clock speeds.<br />
<br />
The decrese in performance of games is also not noticable. When you have a chip that goes this fast, it is hard to notice a difference in games and only slightly easier to notice a difference in 3dmark.<br />
<br />
The basic instruction set is different, just as The_Manual has suggested, but the Xeon still has the higher level instructions of the e6600. (SSE# etc.)<br />
<br />
The Xeon is more amazing (in my opinion) because it runs cooler than the e6600 chips on the market.<br />
<br />
So, I conclude that these chips are not identical, but the differences between them are small (the Xeon having better differences <img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" class="inlineimg" /> )
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
I'd give The Manual and his vaste Intel knowledge the benefit of the doubt. The software is probably not recognizing the Cache issue of this CPU yet, since it's fairly new. When Core 2 Duo first came out, it was mis-recognized also in many cases.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Yeah, Cpu-z did identify it as an e6600 now that you mention it...<img src="/images/smilies/redface.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Embarrassment" class="inlineimg" /> <br />
<br />
But as far as this chip not overclocking... thats a myth, Mine is goin just fine <img src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Thumb" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Glad to hear that <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
Information about overclocking cannot be given unless from first hand experience! Good to hear it treats you well.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,696 Posts
This may shed some light on the situation.<br />
<br />
N/A (L2 cache)<br />
<br />
<a href="http://indigo.intel.com/compare_cpu/default.aspx?familyID=5&culture=en-US" target="_blank">http://indigo.intel.com/compare_cpu/...&culture=en-US</a><br />
<br />
Absurd? I think not <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
Please be aware that if there is an error within the CPU-Z application itself it will not be corrected by your processor. CPU-Z reads the PID (Processor Identification Number) to determine the chip. However to determine what the processor contains it uses it's own onboard database, not the CPU information itself <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
You put your Xeon through the CPU test in 3DMark 06 and see if you notice a slight difference between the E6600 and your Xeon there. You will need to run it several times to notice the difference however as, agreed, the difference is not great. Neither is that of the Xeon over the Conroe at number crunching.<br />
<br />
The Xeon will run cooler because it is manufactured with slightly better Silicon than that of desktop processors (purity is given priority to server processors).<br />
<br />
Time for some applications to be updated I think.<br />
<br />
Please be aware that I have dealt with these chips at architectural level, I'm not just some basic computer enthusiast <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Dang.. why can't I rep a mod.<br />
<br />
Oh well, then just a thank you <img src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Stick Out Tongue" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
Wise words as always... comfirming my thoughts on this <img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" class="inlineimg" />
 
1 - 20 of 114 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top