Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 106 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I see some nice looking Xeon Conroes on the egg for some nice little prices. Their clock looks low, but I like the idea of having a lower clock and still getting the 4mb shared L2 cache.<br><br>
Anyone know how these puppies overclock or perform compared to the x6### or e6### series?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,427 Posts
They should perform slightly slower because of ECC ram and also they can't be overclocked because there are no overclocking server boards.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So they wont work in any normal Socket 775 board? Why is this, they are still conroe core.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,427 Posts
Because they are socket 771 not 775. Look in the specs <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819117085" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819117085</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
you have the wrong core, here is what i found:<br><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819117102" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819117102</a>
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,427 Posts
These are basically the motherboards you are limited to <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Submit=ENE&N=2010200302+1071522019&Subcategory=302&description=&srchInDesc=" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...n=&srchInDesc=</a><br><br>
EDIT: Hold on...<br><br>
Wow, you know I'm not really sure anymore. Now I'm thinking the same thing as you... damn that's a fast cheap processor.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Edit: Holding on!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,614 Posts
maybe its a bit like 939 opty's on a64 boards me hopes so
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I'll tell you what. I will build one and let you know (after I make some ebay cash and get that paycheck)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,614 Posts
looking forward to your feedback
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,427 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>biatchi</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">looking forward to your feedback</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
Me too. That would be frickin awesome to get a 4MB conroe for $200 <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin"> And since it's a xeon I wonder if it overclocks better than the regular desktop CPU's?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
there is also a 2.4ghz Xeon for 350$ or so, but I see more fun factor in lower power CPUs.<br><br>
I will post the planned rig in a little bit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,831 Posts
hmm..<br>
what motherboards could you use? just any old conroe board or does it have to specify xeon? and i wonder if you do need a xeon board, will the FSB go high enough to get a decent overclock on the board? like 550+ fsb?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Im not worried about a board. I am worried about ram though. I am slightly unsure if i need to use ECC ram or not. I was assuming that I didnt because it is the same Conroe core on a socet 775 motherboard.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,845 Posts
Wow, I wonder if the XEON can be used for gaming, if so, its just like an OPTY <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin">, might be.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>splat00n</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">Wow, I wonder if the XEON can be used for gaming, if so, its just like an OPTY <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin">, might be.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
It has the same instruction set that the x6800 has <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Ok, Build as it stands for now (I left room for upgrades because of budget)<br><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813127014" target="_blank">Abit AW9D</a> -189$<br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16819117102" target="_blank">Xeon Conroe 3040</a> -200$<br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820220161" target="_blank">Patriot 2gb DDR2 1066</a> -438$<br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16814102046" target="_blank">Sapphire X1950CrossFire</a> -429$<br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16829102004" target="_blank">Creative SB Audigy 4</a> -71$<br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16822136012" target="_blank">WD Raptor 10,000 rpm 150gb</a> -224$
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,891 Posts
that looks tempting, what multiplier do those things use (sorry amd guy ) and is there a mobo that can run high enough fsb to get er done
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,087 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>MADMAX22</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">that looks tempting, what multiplier do those things use (sorry amd guy ) and is there a mobo that can run high enough fsb to get er done</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
Yeah this will be my first dual core processor and second Intel. Im better with AMD too. I have heard good things about the Abit board. If it gets a bashing I will switch to the DFI plan. I dont know if anyone knows much about this chip yet, so ill be the pioneer.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,891 Posts
sweet , its always fun trying out a chip that your not sure about G.L.<br><br>
i would check around on the mobos everyone seems to running the asus p5b deluxe or whatever it is, seems to be doing really good
 
1 - 20 of 106 Posts
Top