Overclock.net banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, try this one out for size please.
I have a PC Chips M848ALU mobo, 256 Mb DDR 333 memory and an Athlon XP1900+. The XP 1900+ is currently running as an XP1200 at 100Mhz with the memory running at same. If I run the XP1900 at 133Mhz and the memory at 166Mhz the whole lot crashes.
The BIOS has been flashed to it's newest edition and is stable - apart from the above problem.
Hope that you can help - thanks in advance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
885 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by Sabreguy

Hi guys, try this one out for size please.
I have a PC Chips M848ALU mobo, 256 Mb DDR 333 memory and an Athlon XP1900+. The XP 1900+ is currently running as an XP1200 at 100Mhz with the memory running at same. If I run the XP1900 at 133Mhz and the memory at 166Mhz the whole lot crashes.
The BIOS has been flashed to it's newest edition and is stable - apart from the above problem.
Hope that you can help - thanks in advance.

Why not run 1:1 ratio w/ CPU and RAM both at 133?

And did you mean 1200 or 2100??
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,555 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by Ludaz

Why not run 1:1 ratio w/ CPU and RAM both at 133?

And did you mean 1200 or 2100??

I have the same combo for my net surfing rig and encountered the same problem when I first installed it.

The FSB has to be changed by jumpers (look in manual, set to 133mhz, it comes @ 100mhz). If you dont change the jumpers and try to change it in the bios the computer wont post... Weird PC CHIPS stuff.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:


Originally Posted by Ludaz

Why not run 1:1 ratio w/ CPU and RAM both at 133?

And did you mean 1200 or 2100??

I'd be happy to be running an XP1900+ @ 2100


I'll switch the ratio and come back to you.

Cheers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:


Originally Posted by Evil XP2400

I have the same combo for my net surfing rig and encountered the same problem when I first installed it.

The FSB has to be changed by jumpers (look in manual, set to 133mhz, it comes @ 100mhz). If you dont change the jumpers and try to change it in the bios the computer wont post... Weird PC CHIPS stuff.

Checked the manual and looked at the mobo - can't see any jumper on the 'board and there's no mention of it in the manual. Is the FSB detected automatically maybe?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Quote:


Originally Posted by Ludaz

Why not run 1:1 ratio w/ CPU and RAM both at 133?

And did you mean 1200 or 2100??

Ok, I changed the ratio and the PC hung, tried it three times - the CPU was showing as an XP1900+ but I've had to revert to 100Mhz CPU speed to keep the PC running.
Any other ideas?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,555 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by Sabreguy

Ok, I changed the ratio and the PC hung, tried it three times - the CPU was showing as an XP1900+ but I've had to revert to 100Mhz CPU speed to keep the PC running.
Any other ideas?

My bad, I have an M825 mobo, anyways, I seem to have figured out your problem.

Go to their website and update your bios.

M848a16
Version M848a16
Release Date 2004/10/12
Update Description file name: m848a16.rom
check sum:B7BDh
release note: 1. support Sempron model 10 CPU

file name: R1.5.rar
check sum: C89Ch
release note: 1. support Sempron new CPU

file narm:031201s
CheckSum:0334h
release note:1. Fix non-auto detect CPU Freq issue
Special Note
File Size 234KB
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top