Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first build and I have everything except the video card so I'm using an ATI Radeon X1300 pro at the moment. I picked it up today for $300 Canadian and the batch number is 3951A690. I put it in and installed my H50 with push/pull fans pulling fresh air from outside the case and screwed it down and it seems good. On my motherboard there is a little temperature screen that shows around 21C at idle which I believe is the actual CPU temp based on the sensor on the motherboard because it's quite low. This is my first processor with more then 2 cores so I'm not sure if this is normal or if these are good temps. RealTemp and CoreTemp are showing me this on each core these are idle btw:
1: 36-37
2: 31-32
3: 36-37
4: 31-32
Should there be that much of a difference between each temp on each core or is there something wrong? Also are these temps any good for running with an H50 with 2 fans on idle with 2.8 GHz stock clocks? I'm planning to overclock to 4 GHz and hopefully leave HT on but I'm not sure hopefully I'll be able to. My specs are in my signature if that will help anything out.

·
Registered
2,035 Posts
yeah its normal, I have similar readings on my i7 860. I beleive its because the sensors and not the actual temps that vary.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:

Originally Posted by melterx12 View Post
yeah its normal, I have similar readings on my i7 860. I beleive its because the sensors and not the actual temps that vary.
Hmm okay so when I say what my temp is should I go by the core 1/3 or by 2/4?

·
Registered
819 Posts
It's a common occurrence on multi-core CPUs. Either stuck sensors or the heatspreader on the CPU is concave causing it to not have full contact with the heatsink. Nothing to worry about.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Quote:

Originally Posted by dennisjai View Post