Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Edit: Sorry about the waste of your time! I figured out how to upgrade the BIOS (just put the bios file on the root of a USB drive and boot using Alt F2 into the upgrade utility and it finds it automatically) and that solved it! The drive is now in the boot options in the BIOS and Windows is installing (VERY quickly) as we speak. Hope this helps the next guy!

Hello all! I hope this is the right place to ask this, and if not, sorry about that. I found this forum via google of course, trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong with this setup. I am a computer tech, repairing and the like, with the rare PC build in there. I have a client who kinda twisted my arm into helping him build his crazy over the top system. I told him it's not really my skillset, but he wanted me to do it, so I let him convince me. Now I'm staring at what looks like a tricky problem and regretting it, but we will see if you confirm that.

I don't see any way to get this motherboard to boot to the PCI-E SSD installed. Apparently UEFI boot must be enabled, but I don't see any way to enable that in the BIOS. Not a lot of options in the BIOS as far as booting goes. I am able to boot into Windows 7 setup, and I'm able to get the SSD recognized using the Intel driver disk, but then Windows won't boot to it because it reports that the BIOS can't boot to it.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I think I have the BIOS from roughly 5/2015, that came with the motherboard. I'm not sure how to upgrade the BIOS, if that's whats necessary, though I do see an option for EZ something that looked like an upgrade window in the boot options (Alt F2). But when I boot to that, I just get a blue blank page.

Thanks!

·
Overclock Failed...
13,565 Posts
See below...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3