Overclock.net banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,
I just installed a Zalman with this board... on the back of it i noticed there was already a silver mounting plate to screw in the Zalman, but the Zalman CNPS7700-CU comes with its own plate. It it okay if I install using the one that came with the board? Or can I somehow remove that one and install the one that came with the CPU cooler? It seems to me when I use asus one the cooler not not fit tight enough on the cpu.

Anyone have the same setup or any answer??
Thanks!

·
Some call me... Bifford
5,265 Posts
You may damage the board if you try and remove it. I installed a different HSF using the A8V backing plate and it went just fine.

·
Registered
808 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by BFRD

You may damage the board if you try and remove it. I installed a different HSF using the A8V backing plate and it went just fine.

What's a Zalman?? Noob here.

·
Registered
115 Posts
this is the one or close to the one he is talking about. I am putting one on my Amd Athlon 64 3500+ w/ a winchester core.

·
Registered
808 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by fumacation

this is the one or close to the one he is talking about. I am putting one on my Amd Athlon 64 3500+ w/ a winchester core.

I just built a AMD 64 3500+ system i put it in an ASUS K8V SLI Delux, w/ 512 MB RAM, It is the sweetest system i have ever seen. It's a little loud though, i didn't realize the processor didn't come w/ a heat sink, so i had to do some funky things w/ my original heatsink to make it work. I'm currently trying to find a decent air cooling system, but for a reasonable price. I have my eye on the Zalman CNPS7700-ALCU. I'm just worried it wont fit. Supposedly it's really big.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by SoBe8503